About Avondhu GAA

Avondhu GAA is a Gaelic football and Hurling division in the north of Cork, Ireland. The division includes teams such as Charleville, Mallow, Fermoy, and Mitchelstown. It is one of eight divisions of Cork County Board. It organizes competitions for the clubs within the division, at adult level. The winners of these competitions compete against other divisional champions to determine which club is the county champion. In addition, the division selects football and hurling teams from the adult teams playing at junior level or county intermediate level, and these then compete for the Cork GAA Senior Football Championship and Cork Senior Hurling Championship.


  • Cork Senior Hurling Championship Winners 1952, 1966, 1996 Runners-Up 1961
  • Cork GAA Senior Football Championship Winners 1961 Runners-Up 1958, 1960


  • Araglin
  • Ballyclough
  • Ballygiblin
  • Ballyhea
  • Buttervant
  • Castletownroche
  • Charleville
  • Churchtown
  • Clyda Rovers
  • Doneraile
  • Fermoy
  • Glanworth
  • Grange
  • Kildorrery
  • Killavullen
  • Kilshannig
  • Kilworth
  • Liscarroll
  • Mallow
  • Milford
  • Mitchelstown
  • Newtownshandrum
  • Shanballymore

Notable players

  • Pat Mulcahy
  • Neil Ronan
  • Fergal McCormack
  • Ray Carey
  • Paudie Kissane
  • Colm O Neill